Skip to main content

Federal Administrative Law: The Federal Register

This guide serves as an introduction to federal administrative law. It includes research resources on federal agencies, The Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, treatises, administrative decisions and more.

Overview

The Federal Register is published daily and arranged in chronological order and contains the following: 

Rules and proposed rules, agendas and notice of hearings;

Notices of federal agencies and organizations; and 

Presidential documents, such as executive orders and presidential proclamations.

Print Sources

The Federal Register 

Volumes 1-45 dating from 1936-1980 including the Federal Register Index and the List of Sections Affected (LSA) are included and are located in drawers 37-41 on the concourse level of the library.  From 1980 (volume 45 – present) the Federal Register is available on Microfiche and begins in drawer 265, also located on the concourse level of the library.

Online Sources

GPO Access

The Federal Register is published daily and is available for free from the GPO Access website.

Congressional Universe

This site allows you can search by keyword, agency, action, or by citation.

Regulations.gov

This online source provides government regulations from nearly 300 federal agencies.

Subscription Databases

Hein OnLine

PDF versions of the Federal Register are available from 1935 to present with a one day delay.  There is a link to GPO Access for the current day’s version of the Federal Register.  Go to Title Look-Up and type “Federal Register.”

LoisLaw

This database provides documents published in the Federal Register from 1999-the current date.

Westlaw

The database (FR) allows you to search all documents published in the Federal Register from 1981 – the current date.  The database (FR-OLD) contains documents that appeared in the Federal Register from 1936-1980.

Lexis-Nexis

 The database (FR) covers documents that appeared in the Federal Register from 1980 to present and is updated and current within 1 day of publication.  The path to find the database is Legal>Federal Legal-U.S.>Find Statutes, Regulations, Administrative Materials & Court rules>FR –Federal Register.

Subject Guide

Google Web Search