Skip to main content

Federal Administrative Law: Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)

This guide serves as an introduction to federal administrative law. It includes research resources on federal agencies, The Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, treatises, administrative decisions and more.

Overview

The C.F.R. is published annually and is arranged by subject.  It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal Regulation.  Each title is then updated once a year and is only current through the date of publication.  The titles are updated each year as follows:

Titles 1-16 January 1st
Titles 17-27 April 1st
Titles 28-41 July 1st
Titles 42-50 October 1st

 

 

 

The C.F.R. contains the final rules and regulations of administrative agencies.  It is not updated by pocket parts, but because regulations are constantly being made or amended, the new or amended regulations will first appear in the Federal Register, long before they appear in the C.F.R.  Each paper volume of the C.F.R. only contains the regulations that were in effect on the publication date.   Therefore, you must check the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) and the Federal Register to see if a regulation has been modified since the date it was published in the C.F.R..  This can be done on line at:

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html.

Current Print Set and Indexes

Code of Federal Regulations, CFR Index and Finding Aids

KF70 .A34 (Gould Law Library-first floor)

 The current set of the Code of Federal Regulations, CFR index and finding aids are available in the Law Library main collection.

West’s Code of Federal Regulations, General Index

KF70 .A34 W47 (Gould Law Library-first floor)

 

Online Sources

GPO Access; GPO Federal Digital System

 

This version of the CFR is as current as the paper edition of the CFR that appears on the library shelves.

 

GPO Access/e-CFR

 

This version of the CFR is not an official legal edition, but contains updates from the federal register and is current within 2 business days.  The current update status is displayed at the top of every page of the e-CFR.

 

Congressional Universe

 

This site allows the user to search the CFR by keyword, agency, action, or by citation.

 

Subscription Databases

Hein Online 

This database Code of Federal Regulations provides cover of the CFR from 1938 to the present and is updated on a daily basis.

LoisLaw

This database contains all 50 titles of the Code of Federal Regulations and can be searched by table of contents, keyword, heading, history and more.

Westlaw 

The database (CFR) contains all 50 titles of the federal regulations as codified and incorporates recent changes that appear in the federal register; however there can be a one to two week delay in updating the CFR from the Federal Register. 

Lexis-Nexis 

The database (CFR)  contains all 50 titles of the federal regulations as codified and incorporates recent changes that appear in the Federal Register; however, there can be a one or two week delay in updating the CFR from the Federal Register.

Subject Guide

Google Web Search