Skip to main content

Finding Foreign Law at the Gould Law Library: Databases

Overview

Access the Library’s foreign law online collection both on and off campus at 

www.tourolaw.edu/lawlibrary/onlinedatabases.aspx.   Please contact the Reference Office at 631.761.7160 and libref@tourolaw.edu if

you have trouble logging in to a database from off campus  (You should not have any trouble logging in on campus).   Some are

password protected.  We can give you the passwords needed to log in.   Of the more than 60 databases the Library subscribes to, the seven

databases detailed here are the ones where you will most likely find foreign law.

Overview

 Access the Library’s foreign law online collection both on and off campus at www.tourolaw.edu/lawlibrary/onlinedatabases.aspx.   Please contact the Reference Office at 631.761.7160 and libref@tourolaw.edu if you have trouble logging in to a database from off campus  (You should not have any trouble logging in on campus).   Some are password protected.  We can give you the passwords needed to log in.   Of the more than 60 databases the Library subscribes to, the seven databases detailed here are the ones where you will most likely find foreign law.

Online Databases

1. Bar Ilan University Responsa – has many rabbinic case law rulings that represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations.

2. Foreign Law Guide – has citations to foreign law primary sources translated in English and references to secondary sources in English.

3. HeinOnline – has many foreign law documents (cases, books, articles) that are fully searchable and downloadable in PDF.

4. LexisNexis – has caselaw, statutes, articles, and news from many foreign countries and regions.

5. Making of Modern Law – has hundreds of treatises on British law published between 1800-1926 that are fully searchable and downloadable in PDF.

6. Oceana Law – has many foreign constitutions and related documents.

7. Westlaw – has caselaw, statutes, articles, and news from many foreign countries and regions.