Skip to main content

United States Immigration Law: Secondary Sources

Reference or Loose-Leaf Sevices

Bender's Immigration and Nationality Act Service. New York: M. Bender, 2010. 1 v. (Loose-leaf) KF4819.B48
 
Hing, Bill Ong. Immigration and the Law: a Dictionary. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1999. KF4817/H56/1999
 
Federal Immigration Laws, Regulations & Forms. St. Paul, Minn.: West Publishing Co., 2010. KF4805.99.U54 
 
Gordon, Charles, and Harry N. Rosenfield, Immigration Law and Procedure. New York: Bender, 2011. v. [Looseleaf] KF4819.G6 

Graham, Hugh Davis, Collision Course: The Strange Convergence of Affirmative Action and Immigration Policy in America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. JV6483.G73
   
Kurzban, Ira J. Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: a Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool. 11th ed. Washington, D.C.: American Immigration Law Foundation, 2009. KF4819.3.K87
 
LeMay, Michael, and Elliot Robert Barkan, eds., U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Laws and Issues: A Documentary History. KF4818/I85/1999
 
Martin, David A. Asylum Case Law Sourcebook: Master Index and Case Abstracts for U.S. Court Decisions. 10th ed. St. Paul, Minn: Thomson/West Group, 2010. KF4836.A53 M37
 
McWhirter, Robert James, The Criminal Lawyer's Guide to Immigration Law: Questions and Answers. 2nd ed. Chicago, Ill.: Criminal Justice Section, American Bar Association, 2006. KF4819.M39
 
Patel, P. J. Patel's Citations of Administrative Decisions under Immigration and Nationality Laws. New York: Legal Research Bureau, c1982-(Annual). KF4812.5/P37
 
Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Justice, Immigration and Naturalization Service. (1982; 1984; 1990; 1992 -1997). KF4813.A3
  
Tichenor, Daniel J., Dividing Lines: The Politics of Immigration Control in America. JV6483/T494/2002
 
West Group, U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Handbook. KF4710/Z9/N38/2000
 
West Group, Federal Immigration Laws, Regulations, and Forms.  West Publishing Co., 2010. KF4805.99
 
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics [electronic resource] Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Office of Immigration Services, 1996-Annual Continues Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, supra.
 
 

Periodicals

The following is a slected list of active periodicals on the topic of immigration law.

Bender's Immigration Bulletin. Part of Immigration Law and Procedure, supra., v.1-16 (2011) KF.4819.G6 B4

Georgetown Immigration Law Journal. Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Law Center, 1985-v. 1, no. 1, (Fall 1985 to 2010) (Also available through Hein Online)

Immigration and Nationality Law Review. Buffalo, W.S. Hein & Co., 1976-v. 1 (1976 to 2009) (Also available through Hein Online).

Immigration Briefings. [Washington, D.C.]: Federal Publications, 1988-No. 88-1 (Jan. 1988 to date).

Immigration Business News & Comment. [St. Paul, Minn.]: West Group, 1999-v. 1, no. 1 (Sept. 1, 1999 to date).

Immigration Law Advisory. Rochester, NY: Lawyers Cooperative Pub. Co.; Bancroft Whitney Pub. Co., 1985-No. 1 (Jan. 1985 to date). KF/4815/I47/Newsletter

Immigration Litigation Bulletin. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Justice, 1997 Issues available online: v. 7, no. 1 (January 31, 2003 to date).

Interpreter Releases: Report and Analysis Of Immigration and Nationality Law. Washington, D.C.: Federal Publications. Holdings: v. 65 -88 (January 1988 to date). KF4819.I55 

Selected Fundamentals of Immigration Law and Practice. Washington, D.C.: American Immigration Lawyers Association. (1996 to date). KF/4819/S45/

Siskind's Immigration Bulletin. www.visalaw.com/bulletin.html

Handbooks, Manuals and Guides

AILA's Family Immigration Law Handbook. Editor-in-chief, Lenni B. Benson. associate editors, Janet B. Beck ... [et al.]; managing editor, Amy R. Novick. Washington, DC : American Immigration Lawyers Association, 1994. KF/4819.3/A352/1994

Fragomen, Austin T. Jr. and Steven C. Bell. Immigration Employment Compliance Handbook. [New York]: Clark Boardman Co., c1987-(Annual). KF/4829/Z9/I43

Fragomen, Austin T and Steven C. Bell. Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law and Practice. 4th ed. New York: Practising Law Institute, c1996. 1 v. (Loose-leaf). KF4819.F72/2000

Germain, Regina. AILA's Asylum Primer : a Practical Guide to U.S. Asylum Law and Procedure. 5th ed. Washington, DC : American Immigration Lawyers Association, 2007. KF.4836.G47

H-1B handbook. Deerfield, IL: Clark Boardman Callaghan, c1995-(Annual). KF/4829/H17

Hing, Bill Ong. Handling Immigration Cases. 2nd ed. New York : Wiley Law Publications, c1995. KF.4819.H5

Immigration & Nationality Law Handbook. New York: American Immigration Lawyers Association, 1991-2 v. KF.4819.A2 A42 (2004-05) 

The Immigration Act of 1990 Handbook: The Complete Practice Guide to the 1990 Act. New York, NY: C. Boardman, c1991-c1998. (Annual) Holdings: 1991-1999/2000 ed. Continued by: Immigration Act of 1990 Today, infra. KF/4806.57/S55

The Immigration Act of 1990 Today: Current State of the 1990 Changes in Immigration and Nationality Law. St. Paul, MN : West Group, c2000-(Annual) Holdings: 2000/2001Continues Immigration Act of 1990 Handbook, supra. KF/4806.57/S55

Immigration Legislation Handbook. Deerfield, Ill.; New York, NY: Clark, Boardman, Callaghan, c1997-(Annual) KF.4819.I482 (2011) 

1, 2000. (Oceana's Legal Almanac Series: Law for the Layperson.). KF/4819.6/J37/2000

A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: Actions Brought Against INS or Other Law Enforcement Officials for Personal Injury or Property Damage or Loss. Washington, D.C.: American Bar Association, Commission on Immigration Policy, Practice and Pro Bono, 2002. 1 v. (various pagings)KF.4819.L43 2002

A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: How to Complain Effectively Step by Step. Washington, D.C.: American Bar Association, Commission on Immigration Policy, Practice and Pro Bono, 2002. 1 v. (various pagings). KF.4819.L432 2002

A Legal Guide for INS Detainees: Petitioning for Release from Indefinite Detention. Washington, D.C.: American Bar Association, Commission on Immigration Policy, Practice and Pro Bono, 2002. 1 v. (various pagings). KF.4819.L433 2002

Mailman, Stanley. Immigration Law and Procedure: Desk Edition. New York, N.Y.: LEXIS Publishing, 1996-(Loose-leaf supplementation). KF/4819/G623

McWhirter, Robert James. The Criminal Lawyer's Guide to Immigration Law: Questions and Answers. 2nd ed. Chicago, Ill.: Criminal Justice Section, American Bar Association, c2006. KF.4819.M39 2006

The Visa Processing Guide: Process and Procedures at U.S. Consulates and Embassies. Washington, D.C.: American Immigration Lawyers Association, 2004. 612 p. KF/4827/V57/20042005

Weissbrodt, David S. Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell. 6th ed. St. Paul, Minn.: West Group, 2011. KF.4819.3 .W4 2011 

Treatises

Anker, Deborah E and Paul T. Lufkin. The Law of Asylum in the United States. 3rd ed. Boston, MA: Refugee Law Center, c1999. KF4836.A96 1999 (2002 Supp.)

Divine, Robert C. Immigration Practice. Charlottesville, Va: Michie Co., c1997-(Annual). KF/4819/D58

Gordon, Charles and Stanley Mailman. Immigration Law and Procedure. Rev. ed. New York, N.Y.: Bender, 1988-2011 v. (Loose-leaf). KF4819.G6

Immigration Law and Defense. The Immigration Project of the National Lawyers Guild. 3rd ed. New York, N.Y.: C. Boardman, c1988 2 v. (Loose-leaf). KF.4819.E4 I461988 (2011) 

Lynch, James P. and Simon, Rita J. Immigration the World Over: Statutes, Policies, and Practices. Lanham, MD: Rowan & Littlefield, 2003. K/3275/L96/2003

Ngai, Mae M. Impossible Subjects: Illegal Aliens and the Making of Modern America. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2004. KF/4800/N485/2004

Symposium: Law and the Border. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA School of Law, 2003. (Issued in UCLA Law Review, v. 51, no. 1, Oct. 2003.). KF/4848/M48/S97/2003