Skip to main content

Research Guide on Wills: With Special Emphasis on New York: LAW REVIEWS

This Research guide will discuss the laws of wills and decedent's estates in New York and also contain a general discussion on the laws of wills and the Uniform Probate Code.

LAW REVIEWS AND JOURNALS

Westlaw: You can find law review and journal articles in the database name “JLR” which you can access from the Law School tab, under Secondary Sources.  There are also indexes available, such as the Legal Journals Index (LJX), Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP), Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP), the Legal Resource Index (LRI) and Journals Indexed (JI-INDX).

WestlawNext: You should click on "Secondary Sources" in the Browse box.  Click on Law Reviews & Journals to limit your search just to law reviews.  If you only want New York Law Reviews, under the "By State" section, click on New York.   You can then limit your search to "All New York Law Reviews & Journals." 


Lexis: There is a database with a file name “ESTLR” which contains law reviews on estate law. It can be found by following the path: Legal>Secondary Legal> Law Reviews and Journals> by Area of Law>Estate Law Review Articles, Combined. You can also search all United States Law Reviews “ALLUS” and United States and Canadian Law Reviews “ALLREV” or limit the search to law reviews in a particular jurisdiction.  On Lexis Advance, after you put in your search term, you can click on the "Secondary" tab at the top of the page.  Then on the left side you can limit your search to "Law Reviews and Journals."  After clicking on "Law Reviews and Journals", you can further limit your search by jurisdiction, date, source or topic.

Index to Legal Periodicals with Full Text (H.W. Wilson): This database provides national and international coverage, from 1996 - present,  of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.  Some subject search terms include: "wills," antilapse statutes," "executors and administrators," "holographic wills," "living wills," "probate law and practice," "testamentary capacity," "trusts and trustees," "undue influence" and "will contests".

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 (H.W. Wilson): This is the place to go when you are looking for older law review articles.  It indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.  Coverage also includes annual surveys of laws by jurisdictions; annual survey of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.

LegalTrac (Gale).  This is a searchable database of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.  There is a basic search and advanced search option, as well as a search by subject or publication.  When looking for a law review on a subject such as wills, it is important to open up the "Related subjects" link.  Other search terms include:  "living wills," "bequests," "decedents' estates," "estate planning" and "inheritance and succession."  For each subject, don't forget to open the "Related subjects" link.