Skip to main content

Professional Responsibility Resource Guide: Be Prepared to Practice Responsibly: Electronic Resources

Please use this LibGuide as a start to your research. This is not meant to represent all the available information on the topic of Professional Responsibility. For further help, please see a reference librarian.

Subscription Databases for Professional Responsibility Research

The links provided are to Gould Law Library subscription databases.  If you are on-campus, the link should open automatically; if you are trying to open the link from off-campus you will need to enter your Touro Law id and password to identify yourself for the proxy server.

ABA/BNA Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct   

The ABA/BNA Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct is organized into four main sections: the Practice Guides, Ethics Rules, Current Reports, and Ethics Opinions. Here are just a few of the resources available:
  • Links to state ethics rules
  • State variations on ABA rules
  • The ability to search the full text of ABA and state ethics opinions
Searchable database of law review articles, government documents, and historical legal documents. Many of the journals listed on the "print resources" page are available on HeinOnline.  You can log onto the database through the subscription database page or do a title search for the journal in the library catalog.  (See the short video on this page for more search details.) Full text of articles available in PDF format.  Relevant topical law reviews and local journals include:
  • Nassau Lawyer: the journal of the Nassau County Bar Association
  • New York State Bar Association Journal
  • Journal of the Professional Lawyer
  • Professional Lawyer
LegalTrac (Gale)   
LegalTrac provides a searchable periodical index of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals.  LegalTrac contains over one and a half million articles.  All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012. Once you find the citation you are interested in use one of the other full text databases or the library catalog to retrieve the full text of the article. 

ABA/BNA Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct

LegalTrac (Gale)

Once you find the citation of an article on LegalTrac use the library catalog or one of the other subscription databases with full-text available to copy, print or download.

Non-Legal Subscription Databases

The Gould Law Library has access to many non-legal subscription databases that provide the full-text of many academic and professional journals as well as newspapers and popular magazines.  Here are a few of the databases that may prove useful in your professional responsibility research:

Westlaw and LexisNexis search tips

Relevant databases to use when researching professional responsibility on Westlaw include:

  • Restatement of the law governing lawyers (REST-LGOVL)
  • ABA annotated model rules of professional conduct (ABA-AMRPC)
  • ABA Ethics Opinions (ABA-ETHOP)
  • ABA/BNA Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct (ABA/BNA)
  • Legal Ethics- The lawyer's deskbook on Professional Responsibility (LEGETH)
  • Professional Lawyer (PROFLAW)
  • ABA Lawyer Law (ABA-LAWYL)
  • Federal Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility - Cases (FETH-CS)
  • Multistate Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility - Cases (METH-CS)
  • ABA Standards for Imposing Lawyer Sanctions (ABA-SILS)
  • ABA Model Rules for Lawyer Disciplinary Enforcement (ABA-RLDE)

Relevant research trails to use when researching Professional Responsibility on LexisNexis include:

  • Legal>Secondary Legal>Jurisprudence, Restatements and Principles of Law - Law Governing Lawyers
  • Legal>Secondary Legal>ABA>ABA Codes, Constitutions and Opinions (Choose from databases available under this link for codes of conduct and ethics opinions)
  • Legal>Secondary Legal>BNA>ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct