Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents: Government Websites

A guide to the Government Documents collection

Selected Websites

Selected Websites

  • Congress: This website provides legislative information, including information on bills, meetings, and Congressional Records.
  • Government Publishing Office (GPO): The U.S Government Publishing Office (GPO) publishes official and authentic government information.
  • Law Library of Congress: The Law Library of Congress is the world's largest law library. It has a collection of over 2.65 million volumes of primary and secondary sources and covers virtually every jurisdiction in the world.
  • Library of Congress: The Library of Congress has a collection of over 147 million items. Explore topics such as Government, Politics and Law, and find information related to Congress, the Courts or the Presidency. Search and view historic newspapers, maps, manuscripts, and more.
  • National Archives: The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) preserves and provides access to the records of the United States of America. You can explore records related to the founding of America, military records, genealogy records, and much more.
  • Supreme CourtView recent decisions, perform a docket search, check out related links to find other kinds of information and much more.
  • U.S. Census Bureau: The U.S. Census Bureau collects data about the nation's people and the economy. Find out information such as the social, economic, and housing characteristics of any community in the U.S.
  • U.S. Copyright Office: View Copyright laws, regulations, and notices, search copyright records and check out some Hot Topics in Copyright.
  • U.S. Courts: Here you can obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, find basic information on bankruptcy laws, view court records and more.
  • USA.gov: The Federal Government's official Web Portal: This website provides government information as well as a portal to different sources and services provided by the government. Explore Government Jobs, Agencies and much more.
  • The White House: Here you can find information about the White House Administration, recent legislation, latest news and updates, and current issues affecting the nation.

Quotation

"I've been drunk for about a week now, and I thought it might sober me up to sit in a library."

The Great Gatsby, chapter 3
-F. Scott Fitzgerald