Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States Constitutional Law: Online Databases

This guide is intended to assist the user with basic constitutional law research, as well as to provide the researcher with further resources to consult. The most important sources are outlined including primary sources, treatises, hornbooks and more.

General Constitutional Law databases

General Databases

There are many extremely useful databases for researching constitutional law available by subscription at the Gould Law Library. To find these databases you can go to the Gould Law Library Database Page and choose the online databases. 

Hein Online Law Journal Library: This resource contains a vast assortment of law reviews and law journals, including out-of-print materials. Hein Online also has a US Supreme Court Library

Hein Online Supreme Court Library: This resource contains the Constitution, Rules of the Supreme Court, U.S. Reports, U.S. Reports Preliminary Prints, U.S. Reports Slip Opinions as well as books and periodicals about the Supreme Court.

Making of Modern Law is a series of databases published by Gale. It has a full text collection of treatises, records, cases, and other materials on American Law from 1800-1978, including the Federalist papers and the Articles of Confederation. It is fully searchable and browsable. This database is ideal for a person conducting historical constitutional law research. The different sections are Legal Treatises 1800-1926Primary Sources (Gale)U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 (Gale), and Trials 1600-1926 (Gale).

Westlaw

Westlaw

Below you will find a list of resources for constitutional law on Westlaw. This list is not exhaustive.

United States Code Annotated (USCA): This is Westlaw's version of the United States Code. The text of the code is the same as the official US Code however the annotations are provided by Westlaw. 

Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure: This is a database of the full text of Rotunda & Nowack’s six volume treatise. The treatise focuses on the Supreme Court and the political, historical and economic basis for various Supreme Court Cases. 

United States Supreme Court Actions: This resource contains bi-weekly updates of Supreme Court cases.

U.S. Supreme Court Oral Arguments: Here you can find transcripts of various Supreme Court oral arguments. 

U.S. Supreme Court Cases: Here you will find the text of Supreme Court cases.

U.S. Supreme Court Briefs, Petitions & Joint Appendices: This resource contains selected coverage of Supreme Court cases starting in 1930.

Westlaw Bulletin: This resource contains summaries of recent Supreme Court cases. It is updated regularly.

Lexis-Nexis

Lexis

Below you will find a list of resources for constitutional law on Lexis. This list is not exhaustive.

United States Code Service (USCS): This is Lexis' version of the United States Code. The text of the code is the same as the official US Code however the annotations are provided by Lexis. 

U.S. Supreme Court Cases, Lawyers’ Edition: Here you will find the text of Supreme Court cases. It contains special research features not contained in the official copy and dates back to 1956. 

U.S. Supreme Court Transcripts: Here you can find transcripts of various Supreme Court oral arguments. 

U.S. Supreme Court Briefs: This collection contains merit briefs for cases granted certiorari and special masters, amicus curiae briefs, and joint appendices, as well as briefs petitioning for certiorari in civil cases. Earliest brief dated 1936.

United States Supreme Court Cases and Comments: Provides an analysis and overview of various Supreme Court cases as well as the connection of different amendments. The resource is separated by the Constitutional amendments.