Budget of the United States Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year. Years 1996 to present are available online.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations. Years 1996-present are available online.
Orders signed by Presidents Roosevelt through Obama (1937-2017); full text of orders from Presidents Clinton-Obama. Executive orders and disposition tables are available only through the Federal Register for January 20, 2017 to the present.
Executive Orders and Other Presidential Documents: Sources & Explanations
Created by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. this site identifies sources for Presidential directives, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, memoranda, and other documents.
Official U.S. Executive Branch Websites
Maintained by the Library of Congress, this page contains links to only Executive Branch websites.
Maintained by the United States Department of Justice this is a list of clemency recipients from presidents Nixon to Biden.
Users can access proposed rules and regulations issued by federal agencies through this site. Users can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues.
The American Presidency Project has compiled the Annual Messages to Congress on the State of the Union from George Washington in 1790 to the present. Years 1994 to present are also available on GovInfo.
The official website of the White House.
The American Presidency Project archives over 129,000 documents. Hosted by UC Santa Barbara, the American Presidency Project is non-profit and non-partisan. Documents available include: The Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1929); The Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-present); The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2009); and The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (post-2009).
Archived Presidential White House Websites
The official files that make up a Presidential administration's website are preserved in the National Archives' Executive Office of the President Electronic Records Archive. The National Archives has preserved the White House websites and made them available online. Since these are archived webpages, they are no longer updated.
Presidential Libraries and Museums present vast archives of documents, museums full of important Presidential artifacts, interesting educational and public programs, and informative web sites.
This visualization offers a path into the digitized holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration's Presidential Libraries, including texts, photos, and video/audio.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Public papers include: addresses & remarks, appointments & nominations, bill signings & vetoes, communications to Congress & federal agencies, executive orders, media interviews, joint statements, letters & messages, meetings with foreign leaders and international officials, proclamations, resignations & retirements, and statements by the President.
U.S. Department of the Interior (doi.gov)
The U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI) is under the Executive Branch of the U.S. Government. It is one of fifteen executive departments. This guide provides an overview about the DOI, including its bureaus, highlighted publications, and featured online information. The DOI has eleven bureaus. They are the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Indian Education, Bureau of Land Management, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Bureau of Reclamation, Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement, Bureau of Trust Funds Administration, National Park Service, Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and U.S. Geological Survey. Learn more about these bureaus, including their missions and some of their online resources.
U.S. Department of the Treasury
The U.S. Department of the Treasury (Treasury) is under the Executive Branch of the U.S. Government. It is one of fifteen executive departments. The Treasury has seven bureaus. They are the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, Bureau of Engraving & Printing, Bureau of the Fiscal Service, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network, Internal Revenue Service, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and U.S. Mint. Learn more about these bureaus, including their missions and some of their resources.
The U.S. Department of Agriculture provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management. The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is made up of 29 agencies and offices with nearly 100,000 employees who serve the American people at more than 4,500 locations across the country and abroad.
The Department of Commerce’s mission is to create the conditions for economic growth and opportunity for all communities. Through its 13 bureaus, the Department works to drive U.S. economic competitiveness, strengthen domestic industry, and spur the growth of quality jobs in all communities across the country. The Department serves as the voice of business in the Federal Government. The Department fosters the innovation and invention that underpin the U.S. comparative advantage.
The Department of Defense is America's largest government agency. With the military tracing its roots back to pre-Revolutionary times, the department has grown and evolved with our nation. Their mission is to provide the military forces needed to deter war and ensure our nation's security.
ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's 4,400 employees and $68 billion budget are dedicated to: Establishing policies on federal financial aid for education, and distributing as well as monitoring those funds; collecting data on America's schools and disseminating research; focusing national attention on key educational issues; Prohibiting discrimination and ensuring equal access to education.
The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.
Department of Health & Human Services
The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.
The Department of Homeland Security vital mission is to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the hard work of more than 260,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Thier duties are wide-ranging, and our goal is clear - keeping America safe.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
The mission of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is to help people create communities of opportunity. The programs and resources of the Department help Americans create cohesive, economically healthy communities. At the core of this mission is a set of fundamental commitments: to community; to family; to economic lift, to individual rights and responsibilities; and to ending separation by race, national origin, income, disability, age, and class.
The Department of State advises the President and leads the nation in foreign policy issues. The State Department negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign entities and represents the United States at the United Nations. The website include travel advisories and lists various bureau's that fall under the state departments authority including the department for Civilian Security, Democracy, and Human Rights.
The top priorities at DOT are to keep the traveling public safe and secure, increase their mobility, and have our transportation system contribute to the nation's economic growth. The website provides links to its operating administrations and bureaus such as: U.S. Department of Transportation Office of the Secretary (OST), National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), Office of Inspector General (OIG), Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA), Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), Federal Railroad Administration (FRA), Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (GLS), Federal Transit Administration (FTA), Maritime Administration (MARAD). As well as data and statistics for all things transportation related.
The Veterans Health Administration (VHA) is the largest integrated health care system in the United States, providing care at 1,321 health care facilities, including 172 VA Medical Centers and 1,138 outpatient sites of care of varying complexity (VHA outpatient clinics) to over 9 million Veterans enrolled in the VA health care program.
Office of the Attorney General
The Judiciary Act of 1789 created the Office of the Attorney General which evolved over the years into the head of the Department of Justice and chief law enforcement officer of the Federal Government. The Attorney General represents the United States in legal matters generally and gives advice and opinions to the President and to the heads of the executive departments of the Government when so requested. In matters of exceptional gravity or importance the Attorney General appears in person before the Supreme Court. Since the 1870 Act that established the Department of Justice as an executive department of the government of the United States, the Attorney General has guided the world's largest law office and the central agency for enforcement of federal laws.
The Cabinet’s role is to advise the President on any subject he or she may require relating to the duties of each member’s respective office.
Executive Office of the President | The White House
To provide the President with the support that he or she needs to govern effectively, the Executive Office of the President (EOP) was created in 1939 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. The EOP has responsibility for tasks ranging from communicating the President’s message to the American people to promoting our trade interests abroad.