The Constitution Annotated provides an overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time. The Constitution Annotated also includes discussions of the Supreme Court's latest opinions. Researcher's can browse explanations by Articles of the Constitution or Amendments to the Constitution. There are also links to additional resources such as a table of Supreme Court decisions overruled by subsequent decisions.
Supreme Court of the United States
The official website of the Supreme Court. Users can search for information about the Court as well as read opinions and oral arguments.
The official opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court are available from the Library of Congress for years 1754-2003. U.S. Reports are available on the Supreme Court website for years 1991 to the most recent publication.
From the Free Law Project, the CourtListener database provides free access to primary legal materials. The case law content includes opinions from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Federal Appellate Courts, U.S. Federal District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts, and U.S. State Supreme and Appellate Courts.
The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government. The Federal Judicial Center conducts empirical and exploratory research on case management, court administration, rules of procedure, and similar matters. The Center also educates those employed by the courts on subjects including law, case management, the judicial role, leadership, ethics, and court management.
FindLaw maintains a searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1760. It also has information about the U.S. Code, U.S. Constitution, and state codes and caselaw. It also provides access to decisions from state supreme courts and state appellate courts.
Justia provides free access to federal and state court decisions, codes, and regulations as well as recent dockets and selected case filings from the US federal district and appellate courts.
The Law Library of Congress contains the largest collection of United States, foreign, comparative, and international law and legislation in the world. Serving as the de facto law library of the United States, the Law Library of Congress acquires legal information in the publishing format designated as official by each issuing body, and retains the best archival copy available. Visit the website to access their digital collections or search the Library of Congress Catalog.
Oyez (pronounced OH-yay) is a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law. It is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
United States Court of Federal Claims
The U.S. Court of Federal Claims allows citizens to file claims for money against the federal government. The court has nationwide jurisdiction and its judges may hear cases anywhere in the United States. The court is authorized to hear primarily money claims founded upon the Constitution, federal statutes, executive regulations, and contracts (express or implied in fact) with the United States.
United States Court of International Trade
The United States Court of International Trade, established under Article III of the Constitution, has nationwide jurisdiction over civil actions arising out of the customs and international trade laws of the United States.
The official website of federal courts within the United States. Users can search for a federal court by location or court name. The website also includes information about the Judicial Branch, judges and judgeships, statistics, reports, and court records.
United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a collaborative effort between the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts.
Judicial Branch Statistics
US Courts
Statistics & Reports | United States Courts
Caseload Statistics Data Tables | United States Courts
Publications | United States Courts
Federal Judicial Center
Research About the Courts | Federal Judicial Center (fjc.gov)
A list of a number of past published studies conducted by the Research Division
Integrated Database (IDB) | Federal Judicial Center (fjc.gov) -
The IDB contains data on civil case and criminal defendant filings and terminations in the district courts, along with bankruptcy court and appellate court case information from 1970 to the present.